I Got with the Program and Everyone Else Went to a Different Show

Don't even bother smiling at me.

Don’t even bother smiling at me.

So, I finally seem to have found a great anti-depressant that allows me to feel somewhat sane and fairly happy.  The only problem is that it seem to have the side-effect of making every other adult I know completely despondent.  And, you know, it’s not really any fun being happy when you’re the only one smiling.

I can’t find any warnings about this on the paperwork provided by the pharmacy.  But it’s clear to me that, while my medication is helping me, it is slowly depleting the jubilance levels of the rest of society.  Before I started taking this medicine, everyone was way happier than me.  Now, suddenly, these same people are cheerless and glum – and peering at me very suspiciously.  It’s enough to make me go back to being depressed.

Even my dog, Wonderbutt, glares at me like I’m insane for experiencing any kind of joy.

I feel like a Tigger in a world of Eeyores.

Except Tigger wouldn’t care.

So, maybe a better analogy would be that I’m a Piglet who took one sip too many of Tigger’s 5 Hour Energy Drink.  Now, instead of being debilitatingly anxious about everything, I am anxious that I am debilitatingly happy about everything that no one else seems to find remotely joyful.

I am depressed that I am not depressed.

 

Posted on November 20, 2013, in Depression and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 26 Comments.

  1. I’ depressed that I’m not depressed. It’s like what am I smiling about? I’ve been there.

  2. I know this feeling all too well!

  3. LOL I’m a new reader of yours so forgive me for not having read all your posts from the past. Is your dog’s name really Wonderbutt? LMAO Too cute! I’ve always wanted an English Bulldog, you’re very lucky! ~~ Mark (at least he “looks” like one to me from that angle)

  4. “I wonder what Piglet is doing,” thought Pooh.
    “I wish I were there to be doing it, too.”
    ― A.A. Milne, Winnie-the-Pooh

  5. Sometimes i’ll be having too much fun at work and feel the same way. Everyone else is like, wtf are you so happy about? But I’m glad you found a good antidepressant.

  6. Glad you are feeling better! I hope I wasn’t one of those people when I came to work the other night. ;)

  7. I have been there, too! Sometimes I feel like I should be down because everyone around me is. But, I just keep on smilin’ like a crazy person. Hopefully, our cheer will cheer everyone else up! ;)

  8. That’s funny! But I’m happy you’re not depressed… :-)

  9. wait. is this “medication” called tequila? ;) hope you find some happy people soon!

  10. I wonder if you’ve been watching too much Pooh bear? I say be happy and let everyone else come around.

  11. I’m so glad you’re finding some relief at last!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,161 other followers

