October’s Dead Rubber Post by the B even O’er F

Well, as I established in my first Dead Rubber (slang for “boring”) post, I intend to monthly allow myself one post that has very little point and reflects even less thought than usual.  It seems so soon since my first Dead Rubber post, but it has been a month, and I am ready to cut myself some slack.

BOF means Boring Old Fart.  Which leads me to the topic of today’s post – my birthday.  Which is next week.  Yay me.

Believe it or not, I am actually looking forward to it this year.  I don’t remember feeling this excited about a birthday since I was dating Cap’n Firepants and obsessing over getting an engagement ring every time there was a gift-giving occasion.  You know you’ve got it bad when you wake up on Groundhog Day wondering if your sweetheart will find a way to eke some romance out of Puxatawney Phil seeing his shadow.

Last year, I really didn’t care about my birthday.  It was on a week day. I had a million things to do at school and places to chauffeur Dimples after work, so there was nothing special about the day as far as I was concerned.  I did not loathe the day or anything.  I was pretty much lackadaisical (love that word – hope it’s one of the ones in the Adult Spelling Bee in December) about the whole event.  Grateful to have lived another year, of course.  But didn’t see any reason to make a big deal out of it.

For some reason, my attitude has changed this year.  Maybe it’s because I have this “it’s all about me” blog and I am starting to enjoy a little extra attention (although Wonderbutt is the actual star).  Perhaps it’s because I now have Wonderbutt, who happens to share my same birth month, who makes me laugh while I cry every day.

But, I think that it more than likely has to do that they are announcing a new iPhone next week, and I am wa-a-a-a-ay overdue for an upgrade.

Yeah, so in my post, The Curable Romantic, I kind of mentioned that gadgets are the best way to my heart these days.  And, fortunately, Cap’n Firepants is well aware of this.    He has already verified with me that I am interested in the iPhone Nimbus 2000 or whatever they are going to call it.  And I think he has been quite impressed that I haven’t dropped my current iPhone in the river, as I did with my last, non-smart, mentally deficient phone.

So, I think there is a good chance that iPhone >4 will be my birthday “surprise”, although I won’t be able to hold it in my hands on my actual birthday.

I am excited.  Who cares if I am getting old and wrinkly?  As long as Apple keeps finding more ways to take my money every six months and Wonderbutt has more wrinkles than I do, I can deal with it.

Posted on October 1, 2011, in Aging, Blogging, Cap'n Firepants, Family, Humor, Wonderbutt and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. I like your dead rubber post! I go nuts over my birthday every year. I make everyone in the house pay attention to me. Seriously, I have no shame.

    • Thank you. I am going to try that approach this year. I am slightly worried, though, that it will backfire and the other members of the family will require equal attention on their birthdays.

  2. I found when you hit a certain age birthdays become lots of fun if you start counting backwards.

  3. TheIdiotSpeaketh

    I-Phone 4’s are a great gift for your 29th Birthday…. 🙂

  4. on my last birthday, i got a slew of those automatic Facebook birthday greetings, from folks i barely knew. answering each one and saying thanks without revealing that i wasn’t sure who was whom took me days of hard work. so happy birthday to you, but note that you don’t have to write back thanking me. everybody that i wrote to, to thank, did write back to me, so i had to write back to them all again. it was rough.

  5. That would be great to get the iphone 4! I forget we are birthday twinkies kinda. I like the birthday card up there, too. 🙂

  6. I hope that your birthday will be very happy and full of lovely surprises.
    Having got to my age I decided to reverse the number therefore being 72 i am 27. That is ok till I get to 78 and then suddenly I am 87, that’s no good, so I shall scrap that idea.
    Getting older does not necessarily mean being older, you are I are I am sure young at heart so stay that way. Also age does not mean OLD it means wiser I think
    love to PBI and Wonderbutt

  7. Bongo says thanks for subscribing to his blog. He is now following yours. Your posts are great. Even when you say you’re not going to be funny you are.

Leave a Reply

