Bow Your Heads for Big Mean Kitty

I miss Big Mean Kitty.  Yes I know it has seemed in my last few BMK posts that I felt a slight antipathy toward this psycho dog toy with homicidal tendencies.  But I guess I might have had a soft spot for him after all.

R.I.P. Big Mean Kitty

We shipped Big Mean Kitty off to the Great Landfill in the Sky this week.  We think.  He didn’t go without a fight.  As Cap’n Firepants lugged the garbage bag out to the trash, a series of squeaks emanated from the bottom.  The whole Firepants household stopped what we were doing and stared at that bag.  The Cap’n raised an eyebrow at me as if to say, “Are you sure you want to do this?”  I gulped.  “Keep going,” I bravely squawked, sealing the fate of Big Mean Kitty. “And make sure you put a really good knot in that bag.

When I returned home later that day, the garbage can was in the middle of our driveway.     I had to wheel it out of the way to pull my car in.  As I did that, and Dimples checked the mail, I surreptitiously took a peek inside.  Empty.  Phew.  No, I really mean phew.  It stunk in there.  If the garbage piled on top of him didn’t do him in, Big Mean Kitty surely would have suffocated from the fumes.

So, now we have the replacement Big Mean Kitty, which was kindly bestowed upon us by our cousins, the Globetrotters.  Seemingly unaware of the change in their leadership, the dogs welcomed the new potential troublemaker with a serious game of  Tug of War.

But, almost from the beginning I sensed there was something different about this Big Mean Kitty.  Maybe, it was finding him trying to escape, not long after the above episode occurred, through our kitchen cabinets.

Where Ya Going, Big Mean Kitty?

Or maybe it’s his attempts to scoot under the sofa out of sight.

We Can Still See You!

But I think it’s the fetal position I keep finding him in that is the real clue.

This Big Mean Kitty is a Big Purple Pussy.

At least I don’t have to worry about him murdering us in our beds.

Whatcha Scared of, Big Mean Kitty?

Posted on October 7, 2011, in Big Mean Kitty, Dogs, Humor, Mrs. P.I.B., Wonderbutt and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 18 Comments.

  1. Welcome New Big Kitty!

  2. RIP MEAN KITTY

  3. My mom always told me that red haired people were more mean than normal. I sure hope this is not the case with your new Big Mean Kitty. She photographs pink & red – this may be a sign…

  4. Looks like Wonderbutt’s been licking him some Big Purple Pussy. I know, I know…
    Sorry, I couldn’t resist…

  5. I had one of those for my dog when she was alive and she was scared of it! Stupid Big Mean Kitty

  6. I would say Big Mean Kitty is a Houdini wanta be. Or maybe he is a she and is looking for the one that got away via the trash can.

  7. I don’t think he’s scooting under the sofa. I think a quarter rolled under it and he wants it back.

  8. Big Mean Kitty is dead.
    Long live Big Mean Kitty.

    I saved Sherman’s first snuggly toy from his puppyhood when it started getting too tattered, because I knew I could never stand throwing it away. That one was a friendly monkey, though, not a bad cat who plotted to smother me in my bed.

  9. TheIdiotSpeaketh

    I’ve put small black armbands on my own cats as we mourn the passing of Big Mean Kitty…. 🙂

Leave a Reply

