(Let’s) Go Fly a Kite!

Shout out to What What on Flickr for this pic. Had to use it just because of your name!

In a surprising and devastating blow to the world of pop music, Dimples has begun to listen to the Mary Poppins soundtrack once again.  (She loved it three years ago – when she was five.) I am not sure what precipitated this abrupt change, but she is suddenly blaring the songs on her iPod and singing them in the shower. Tonight, she announced that her favorite song is actually the one I found the least exciting in the whole movie/musical – “Sister Suffragette”.

“Cast off the shackles of yesterday!” Dimples sang one of the lines with gusto.  “It’s such an upbeat song!”

“Uh, yeah.  Do you even know what a suffragette is?”

“No,” she said, as she marched around the room, obviously not too concerned that she had no clue what the song was actually about.  (This is, after all, the same kid who kept loudly singing that she “was running faster than the Darryl” – the name of the father of one of her friends –  to the O.A.R. song, “Love and Memories.”  Actual lyrics – “Love me faster than the devil.”  In retrospect, that doesn’t make much sense either…)

“Well, it’s a woman who is fighting for the right to vote.”

She nodded knowingly, and said, “Well, that makes sense.”

What did that mean? I probably should have asked her that question.  But this was another one of those conversations I never planned to have, and I was still asking myself if a song about casting off shackles should be considered upbeat.  Better than a song in which one becomes shackled, I finally concluded.  Rihanna’s “S&M” song would most likely fall into the latter category.

I should be glad that Dimples seems to identify with this song.  After all, I just had a discussion with her about being more assertive.  This song does appear to promote that theme.  It mentions that men, as a group, “are stupid”.  A bit of a stereotype, but I’m willing to accept a bit of female chauvinism on her part – at least until she gets through puberty.  And her child-bearing years.

When she was younger, she loved Bert, and couldn’t get enough of “Step in Time”.  I suppose I shouldn’t be surprised that she no longer embraces a song that mentions being in time, She of the 30 minute Showers about which she claims she is going as fast as she can.

My Mary Poppins theme song used to be “Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious”.  I would brag about being able to spell it to all of my young friends, and they would disbelievingly urge me to try.  Of course, since they couldn’t spell it, themselves, it was a bit impossible for them to confirm whether or not I was telling the truth.  I’m keeping my fingers crossed that it’s one of the contest words in my Adult Spelling Bee in December.

If I had to choose a track from the show now, I think it would be “I Love to Laugh”.  It’s the only thing that keeps me sane and chuckling as Dimples casts off her shackles over and over again in the shower while I debate whether I should knock on the door and scare the crap out of her or flush the toilet to see if she can actually reach Julie Andrews’ high notes.

Posted on October 19, 2011, in Dimples, Family, Humor, Parenting and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 18 Comments.

  1. critters and crayons

    Hilarious! I need to rent that movie for my daughter- that’s a classic- That one- and Chitty Chitty Bang Bang- which I did purchase on iTunes, never finished the download because I wasn’t connected to a PC and then never got my 15 bucks back. Thanks for this post- I’ve gotta call iTunes. 🙂

    • We haven’t done Chitty Chitty Bang Bang yet. I was always scared of the Child Catcher and I’m afraid of giving Dimples nightmares. Who am I kidding? I’m afraid of giving myself nightmares.

  2. What I like best about the movie is the way they clean their room. I could seriously use that skill when it comes to getting my housework done.

  3. Easily one of my favourite movies of all time. And what a great soundtrack! It’s win on every level.

  4. I suppose that somewhere, somehow it is good music but after its been on TV every Christmas for the past 50 years it does get a bit ‘naff’.

    But at the time it was released it was a good film and for those who have not had it rammed down their throats for years on end, certainly is a film to watch.

    As long as Dimples is enjoying it, she cannot come to harm…

  5. Haven’t heard the MP soundtrack in forever, but I know this much: Julie Andrews should teach elocution lessons.

  6. A kid after my own heart. I, too, am a shower staller. I could spend days in there. Little story: years ago, babysitting for the weekend, I sent the middle child (always an enigma) to shower. He was taking forever. I snuck upstairs into the master bedroom (which had a door to the bathroom) and sneaked a peek. The shower was going full-on, steaming up the place and he was sitting on the toilet reading a comic book with a wet face cloth in his hand. And so a schemer is born. I did what any other person would do…I scared the crap out of him and made him take two showers the next day. 🙂

  7. Impressive spelling! Great post.

  8. Julie Andrews is amazing and I used to always brag about how I could spell supercalifragilisticexpialidocious to all my friends.

  9. I vote for “A Spoonful of Sugar”!

  1. Pingback: Help! « whatimeant2say

Leave a Reply

