hOWS That Workin’ for Ya?

I’ve played a minor role in history.  I participated in a sit-in once.  I was in college at the time, and part of my financial aid package involved me working at the campus security office.  It was a small office, and I had the good fortune of getting along fairly well with all of my co-workers, including my bosses.

One of the perks, besides being able to find out about all of the lurid things going on around the campus, was free soft-drinks.  I lived on Diet Coke back then.  I don’t think I drank a glass of water my entire four years of college.

One day, some brilliant person bought cases of Diet Pepsi to stock the security office fridge instead.  There were three student workers, and two of us were outraged.  We declared the third one to be apathetic and staged a sit-in on the floor of the Captain’s office. It was very uncomfortable.  Luckily, we didn’t need a tent or sleeping bags.  After fifteen minutes of this enormous pressure, “The Top 1%” gave in and promised never to commit such a heinous act again.

I learned some valuable lessons from this nonviolent protest.  A. Having a sense of humor can diffuse potentially volatile situations (we were, after all, in the security office where there were guns and stuff) and 2. It’s easier to get what you want when you are specific.  Next – infiltrate the system, so you can make change from within.  IV – put the pressure on the person/people who might be motivated, and have the power, to do something about your complaint.  E. Put a woman in charge.

The Occupy Wall Street protesters seem to get A.  Maybe a little too well.

I’m not sure they’ve really considered number 2, though. (Speaking of number two, who organizes a months long protest without taking the bathroom facilities into account – not a woman, I’m pretty sure.)  As for the Next criteria, maybe some of their celebrity friends can help infiltrate the system.  And IV – well, the best example of this would be one of this year’s Nobel Peace Prize winners, Ellen Johnson Sirleaf.  In the bid to stop oppression in Liberia, particularly of women, she led a massive protest in which the primary weapon was the withholding of sex.  Yep.  You read that right.  Which leads me back to E.

Not that I’m trying to give anyone any ideas.

This Wouldn't Be a Problem with one Slight Change in Strategy...

Posted on October 28, 2011, in Humor, Politics and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 15 Comments.

  1. patrecia/misswhiplash

    what have you done with the picture of wonderbutt..please replace asap!

  2. Great post. I believe most all of our troubles could be resolved so much faster with a women in charge and a man standing behind her. After all we need one of those to blame all our mistakes on 🙂

  3. I stage a sit-in at work every day and I’ve very specific in my demand for a huge raise from my female boss. I need to work on Next and IV.

  4. Women would never replace diet coke with diet pepsi. And they would take into account bathroom facilities. Maybe America should try replacing all the men in power with women and see what happens. It might not be perfect but we would probably see some improvements. 🙂
    I love your posts, by the way.

  5. Ew diet pepsi. Everyone knows Diet Coke OVER Diet Pepsi any day. Yes, it’s true. Women always know where the nearest bathroom is, because we don’t have the male equipment to easily whip it out behind some tree/bush.

    BTW- my husband has a cute story of he and his sister having to attend picketing with their parents. Their dad was a teacher in the 70’s and they helped make signs, and march, etc. a couple of times in his childhood. Well, his sister didn’t like some rule(s) in the house or their allowance was too low, and she made them make signs and march in front of my mother-in-law. How funny is that?

    I don’t recall if it worked. 🙂
    Sandi
    http://www.ahhsome.wordpress.com
    Lake Forest, CA

  6. Great post. The sense of humor works wonders and can give you a new perspective on things. How else could I deal with Bongo when he’s – well, Bongo.

  7. The line “How is that working for you?” is so powerful. If people stepped back from their behavior and asked that question of themselves, they would be able to get out of the trench they dug for themselves and move their lives forward.

Leave a Reply

