Wardrobe Wars

Today will be a relatively short post due to major goings on in the Firepants household.  Dimples has a Synchronized Swimming water show today, and it’s an all-day affair.  My Dorfenbergerthalamus is being stretched to its limits between getting to rehearsals, knoxing/makeup applications, and performances on time.  Here’s a glimpse into the frustration of being the Mother of Dimples, a fourth-grader (note the current grade level, as it will help you to appreciate this conversation):

“Mom, when we go shopping tomorrow, can you get me some long-sleeved shirts?”

“Well, maybe one or two.  I don’t want to spend a lot because you never want to wear them.”

“I don’t?”

“Are you kidding me?  Every time it gets cold and I try to get you to wear warm clothes, you act like I’m abusing you.  You insist on wearing a short sleeved shirt and a sweater. It can be a thirty degree day, and when I pick you up from school your sweater is stuffed in your backpack and your jeans are rolled up to your knees.”

“I don’t think so.”

Pause.

“I remember there was a time in second grade I wore one.”

Yeah.

Posted on October 29, 2011, in Children, Dimples, Humor, Memory Loss, Parenting, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. The ending made me laugh out loud. My son wouldn’t – still doesn’t wear long sleeve shirts either. At least he doesn’t stretch my clothing budget too far. Jeans and T shirts and he’s happy.

  2. I don’t put away all of the short sleeved shirts in the winter because someone ALWAYS wants to wear one. I keep the house 65 degrees, but they are still running around in shorts.

  3. Haha. I think I used to be like this but it pissed my mom off which scared me out of it.

  4. Haha my first born wears sweatshirts in summer shirts in winter

  5. By the end of the week, my children’s backpacks are bulging with sweaters. We had to pack a bag to escape our powerless house in the wake of a SNOWSTORM and my 7-year-old packed shorts and tank top. Really?

Leave a Reply

