I Think I Need a Bigger Closet

I wore a hat the other day.  It was cute.  Since I don’t post pictures of myself on this blog, I thought I could use the Google matching images tool to find the closest match.  Here is what I came  up with:

O.K.  Not really.

I mean, the hat was similar, but I totally don’t look like Sarah Jessica Parker.

Let’s just say that Google brought up a bunch of people with blond hair (mine is brown) who looked nothing like me, including Gwyneth Paltrow (on a side note – I just tried to type Gwyneth with two “n’s” and my Mac underlined it.  It was happy when I deleted one “n”.  Is my computer a closet fan of Gwyneth Paltrow?) and Jennifer Aniston.  And my friends who read this blog will totally back me up, much to my dismay, that I look like neither of these people.  Although I did have the “Rachel” haircut about 15 years ago.

But the failings of Google’s Image Search Tool are not what I am here to discuss today.

Back to my hat.  It was a bit of what is called a Fashion Risk.  Most people in my torso of the woods do not wear hats.  For one thing, it is usually not cold enough.  And for another, it’s usually too hot.

I love hats, though.  So, I daringly bought a couple last winter because they looked really good on the salespeople wearing them at Anthropologie.  I have a tendency to forget that I do not work there and, more importantly, that I am at least twenty years older than the people who do work there.  This can lead, and often does, to the Fashion Faux Pas.

However, I have learned, as SJP obviously knows, that without pain there is no glory.  When I dress “safe”,  I don’t stand out.  And when I don’t stand out, I don’t get complimented.  I also don’t get humiliated.  But I’ve been working on ignoring that part of the deal.

So, every once in awhile, because I am Addicted to Affirmations, I venture a Fashion Risk and keep my fingers crossed that it’s not a Fashion Faux Pas.  And I am successful often enough that I keep on doing it.

So, what do you think?  SJP’s hat?  Should I go for it?

Posted on November 6, 2011, in Fashion, Humor and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 28 Comments.

  1. You would definitely stand out…if you have a Slinky you could probably duplicate SJP’s hat!

  2. You are right, nobody wears hats here. But, I think you could totally pull off any hat even if you don’t work at Anthropolgie. I like when other people wear hats. I just don’t like to wear them. 🙂

  3. I think you should have posted a picture of you wearing one of your hats. I am sure it would be lovely 🙂

  4. I definitely understand what you’re saying with the weather. Just the other day I tried to justify this hat (http://www.target.com/p/Albertus-Swanepoel-for-Target-Kwele-Hat-Leopard/-/A-13626866#?lnk=Other_ASBOUTIQUE_X2Y0_0|X2Y0) and came to the conclusion that the one month of winter we get in phoenix cannot support this purchase! – amodestobsession.wordpress.com

  5. TheIdiotSpeaketh

    Ladies in hats is never a bad thing…..go for it! 🙂

  6. You should take a picture of just the hat. You know what they say – hat is like underwear for the head! They say that. I heard them. It was kind of hard under that jet engine, but I swear they said that thing that I indicated they said earlier in this here comment. Also, Middleton.

  7. I think you’re brave enough to wear that hat, so you should. Please post a picture of Wonderbutt’s reaction! 😉

  8. I’d like to see the hat. I need Hat Therapy. Whenever I try on a hat, a large billboard comes up behind me, ringed in lights, saying “Look at this idiot wearing a HAT!”

  9. I think you’d fit right in with that hat if you attended a wedding in the UK.

  10. Post a picture of your head with a hat so i can see! you dont have to get your face in it

  11. If you choose to go with this or something similar, start practice your crouching now.

  12. Miranda Gargasz

    My heart is breaking over the idea that the “Rachel” is so old. When it is old, then I am old. I need a hat to cover my low self-esteem right now….

  13. Totally, and while you are at it get one of those chairs as well….

Leave a Reply

