I Have a Shrinkage Problem

Last week, I posted “Somebody Spiked my Blog.” Because my other blog, which I refer to as my Control Blog, had an unusual spike in site visits that had no reasonable explanation.  I was being a bit whiny because I put a lot more time into this blog, and had never gotten nearly that amount of hits in one day.

So, this week, my Control Blog started experiencing another mysterious climb, and I was about to throw up my hands in despair.  Fortunately, one of my friends explained that her husband had sent out an email recommending the blog to quite a few people that day.  Mystery solved.

I woke up the next morning and, as every normal person does, I raced to my computer to check my blog stats.  The day before, Control blog had gotten a grand total of 127 hits.  Good for Control Blog.  Let’s see how Blog on Which I Devote Every Waking Moment Writing and/or Thinking About is doing.  Wow!  WTF!

Blog on Which I Devote Every Waking… got 237 hits yesterday?!!!  How did that happen?

Wait a second, I noticed, that’s the stats for today.  At 6 a.m., Whatimeant2say Blog had over 200 hits!  Did I get Freshly Pressed?  Nope.  What’s going on here?

Apparently, I’d been Stumbled Upon*.  BIG TIME.  By the end of the day, I had 500 hits on my blog.  I know I tend to hyperbolize on this blog, but I swear I’m not making this number up.

I also swear that I am not bragging.  Believe it or not, I realized what was going to happen way before the number climbed past the 300 mark.

Post Dramatic Success Syndrome – the unfortunate aftermath that results from a ridiculous elevation of blog site stats only to be followed the next day by an astoundingly high speed crash to more realistic numbers.

My suspicion is that my most recent post, “Wonderbutt Weight Loss Program” triggered a bunch of stumbles for people who had a genuine interest in actually decreasing their personal poundage.  Imagine their surprise in being directed to a blog on a bulldog’s very ineffective food and exercise routine.  Who does not have a butt to which most people would aspire.

So, now I get to watch my stats shrink like George Costanza’s you know what when it’s exposed to cold water in a pool in the Hamptons as the Stumblers continue to fumble their way past my site, dismissing my trivial post in the hopes of discovering an easy way to achieve a Butt of Wonder.

Is This the Butt You Were Looking For?

*StumbleUpon is a site that basically recommends other sites to you based on your interests.

Posted on November 18, 2011, in Blogging, Humor, Wonderbutt and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 29 Comments.

  1. Congrats on being stumbled upon. In the good way. Not in the one that calls for apologies.

  2. StumbleUpon is awesome… I put your Never Ask a Pirate for a Favor post on SU and looks like it already got 90 hits today!! haha…

    StumbleUpon is the ho, we just gotta be the pimps. haha…

    • OMG! I thought you were joking, but I just looked at my stats and I have, like, over 200! I had fifty something a little while ago! Guess I get to ride the wave a little bit longer! Thanks! If I can remember my login, I’ll do the same for you!

      • I StumbleUpon all of my posts to get them out there.

        Just make sure you use a variety of topics to cover more people. hahaha…

        The standard topics I use are humor, adult humor, married life, relationships, men’s issues, women’s issues. Then depending on the topic I use others.

        If you really want a thrill ride, make a suggestive headline and put sex as a topic. hahaha…

  3. Ha! That is EXACTLY the “butt of wonder” that I would love to see every day in the mirror.

  4. Stats are really the devil laughing at all of us.

  5. Congratulations! Just don’t forget us WordPressers, we need Wonderbutt love too!

  6. Guess I’ll be happy with a slow and steady climb of my stats even though a spike might be fun now and then. Not sure I could handle the Post Dramatic Success Syndrome.

  7. Your posts are so very funny and I look forward to reading them so much. I am never disappointed! Good luck dealing with your Post Dramatic Success Syndrome 🙂

  8. You are absolutely hilarious!

  9. i think that Butt is Wonder-ful!!!

    You really are one crazy lady… I tried that once with Boobs and Bottoms but nothing happened!

    You put just about the right Weight in the right place….

  10. Glad you got to the “bottom” of it. 😉

  11. Before you know it, 300 visits will be a bad day for you……. mark my words…… 🙂

  12. 300!!!!!!!! Lady, if my stats hit triple digits you’d have to send Wonderbutt on over to find what was left of me. I’d melt into a puddle of drool! Right now double digits are a day to break out the champagne! I am glad your blog got those kinds of stats. Can I rub that Wonderbutt for luck? lol

  13. Ha! I’d never heard of stumble upon, and so I just shamelessly created a profile and added my own blog.

    Congrats on your numbers for sure!

Leave a Reply

