December’s Dead Rubber Post

I had every intention for this to be one of my best posts ever.  It was going to include very few words, a slight number of photos, and a lot of video footage.  The subject of this media extravaganza was to be Wonderbutt’s reaction to the Clownfish Air Swimmer that Cap’n Firepants bought Dimples for her birthday.

Wonderbutt’s acts of defiance know no bounds.  While he was confined to the kitchen during the rather lengthy construction of the Air Swimmer (the “greatest present ever!” according to Dimples), Wonderbutt chose to use his time to demolish a kitchen towel we had foolishly left within his reach.

Wonderbutt Has No Christmas Spirit

 

This lack of respect toward a mere piece of linen led us to believe that our Clownfish, appropriately named Mike, could easily suffer the same fate or worse.  Since we were not interested in Wonderbutt filleting our fish, we made certain Wonderbutt had little freedom in the presence of the great beast.

Finally, once remote control of the fish had been somewhat mastered, we felt that we could allow Wonderbutt to have some supervised playtime in the same room.  Anticipating great hijinks, I armed myself with a still camera and a video camera in order to historically preserve Wonderbutt’s reaction to the menacing animal prowling the skies above him.

He didn’t give a flip.

Wonderbutt Yawns Nonchalantly as Mike the Clownfish Approaches

 

Instead, Wonderbutt went immediately to the spot from which Cap’n Firepants was remotely controlling the fish, and sat there glaring at the Cap’n.  He paid no mind to the fish, even when the Cap’n took the risk of directing the balloon to the point where it was almost on top of the bulldog.

The Remote Control Has More to Fear than Mike the Clownfish

My hopes of our YouTube video of “Wonderbutt and Mike Engaged in a Duel” going viral were dashed.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

So, I am choosing to make this my December Dead Rubber Post, which means it is my monthly Opt Out of Putting any Major Effort into My Writing Because I Have Nothing Notable to Report.

I will attempt to have a more interesting life tomorrow.

Posted on December 4, 2011, in Blogging, Cap'n Firepants, Humor, Wonderbutt and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 32 Comments.

  1. I don’t know, This is pretty notable for laughs!

  2. Chancy, Mumsy and Crew

    He is waiting for you to get out of sight. Then look out fish. lol Hugs and nose kisses

  3. Sometimes pets just don’t cooperate. Well, more than sometimes.

  4. If you put a Santa hat on the fish I bet Wonderbutt would take notice.

  5. It’s frustrating when your pets (or kids) don’t cooperate with your videoing efforts. What jerks.

  6. Wonderbutt’s reaction might be different if they made a flying kitchen towel!!! 🙂 Mike is amazing -moves so naturally.

  7. I think Wonderbutt is smarter than we think. He’s probably lulling you into a false sense of security… then it’s lights out for Mike. 😉

  8. I agree with underwhelmer above, this is only the lull before the storm.

    Whatever post you write it can never be a ‘dead duck’ especially one mentioning WB or MrsPIB..that can only be creativity at its best

  9. When you least expect it Wonderbutt will spring into action…until then…nada!

  10. I really love your dog! I’m living vicariously through you since I can’t have a dog where I am. If I could, it would be a Wonderbutt!

  11. Maybe in his world, he ALWAYS sees flying fish. Maybe he needs a therapist.

  12. You’re doomed.
    There’s Wonderbutt, studying the TV. Shortly after, there’s Wonderbutt, studying the remote.
    I think he’s learned how to use these icons of technology

    Once he figures out how to work the latch on the doggie door, it’s all over.

  13. Wonderbutt is my very favorite internet dog celebrity.

  14. Pets can be difficult, like when my cat decides I’ve been sitting in her spot on the couch for long enough and attacks my head from behind.
    Wonderbutt is one of my favorite dogs on the internet.

  15. Seems plenty interesting. Remember the old Chinese curse: May you live in interesting times!

  16. Well that was ho hum. 😉 Maybe Wonderbutt’s reaction to the Christmas tree will be the same?

  17. What a let down! I hope Wonderbutt is feeling better soon.

  1. Pingback: Dimples is One Code I Can’t Crack « whatimeant2say

Leave a Reply

