Wonderbutt Takes After Me

I recently read a very funny post by Not Quite Old regarding the decisions her computer likes to make about what e-mail she should read.  Her computer is The Decider.

My daughter is The UNDecider.  I swear, the kid refuses to commit to anything except my committal to an institution.

Here are a few of the quandaries she has had recently:

1.)   whether or not to wear long or short pajamas (it has been in 30’s for the last three nights)

b.)  what shoes to wear to her choir concert (flip-flops were part of this multiple-choice – see #1)

III.)  whether or not to wear a light jacket or a coat (see #1)

Four.)  whether we should buy Wonderbutt the rope toy attached to the ball or the ball toy attached to the rope – 10 more minutes of my life that I will never get back

Cinco.)whether or not to continue to use her princess nightlight

Experienced parents will nod their heads and tell me that I should enjoy the fact that my daughter still wants my opinion because, as soon as puberty hits, the child will be full of her own opinions and never ask my advice again until she is 40.

I say that you are wrong.

First of all, Dimples has always been like this.  And she doesn’t actually want my advice.  She wants to drive me crazy.  If I ever do offer my advice, she proffers the opposite.  If I agree with the opposite, she throws in another, completely off-the-grid, solution.  It is a no-win situation.  So, there is nothing to enjoy here.  And, clever People, if I try the Make Your Own Decision tact, it is equally excruciating.  She will do her thinking out loud as close as possible to my ears, procrastinating the choice until the reason for making the choice is long over.

Secondly, she will never change.  I know this because I know at least two other adults to which she is related, one of whom I am married to, who do the same thing.  Being in a car with the three of them is EXASPERATING.  Imagine agonizing over which fast food restaurant you will stop at WHEN YOU HAVE BEEN SAYING FOR TEN MILES THAT YOU DON’T CARE – AND YOU REALLY, SERIOUSLY DON’T CARE – BUT THEY APPARENTLY DO BECAUSE THEY SHOOT DOWN EVERY NAME YOU PUT OUT THERE.  And – hey, look at that roadside stand selling watermelon over there!  Uh, what were we talking about – well, should we eat lunch now, or just stop at a rest area for a bathroom break?

If I finally decide to name a place with a very decisive tone that notifies everyone that this is the last word, no arguing, and everyone agrees, we will get into the parking lot, and one of them will, I swear, say, “Maybe we should try McDonalds instead.”  Which was never one of the choices we discussed to begin with.

I love Dimples.  She has a lot of things going for her, and I’m sure she will be a success in life.  Doing what she decides to do.  For the sake of our country’s future, I will do my best to discourage her from pursuing law or medicine.  However, I’m not sure I can keep her out of politics.  Sadly, I think she would fit right in.

Wonderbutt is very Decisive

 

Especially When it Comes to Things He Believes Need to Be Destroyed - Just a Bit like Hitler

Posted on December 7, 2011, in Children, Dimples, Dogs, Family, Humor, Parenting, Wonderbutt and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 28 Comments.

  1. Thanks for the mention and the Link! Indecisive people make me crazy..(and least sometimes I think so) (but maybe not.)

  2. Since Dimples was willing to read to Wonderbutt, maybe she could also ask him to help with her decisions.

  3. I like the fact that Wonderbutt has green eye instead of red eye.

  4. Hah!
    I know precisely what you mean, my younger sister is like this and has been since she was a kid – a trait she’s inherited from my dad. Both of them drive me up the wall with being opinionated and hard-headed but totally non-committal and impossible to get a decision out of when I WANT them to make one.
    Cheers.

  5. Hilarious! I think the name UNDecider could be applied to all children of Dimple’s age! But I suppose it is healthy to explore as many options as possible 🙂

  6. Love it…we have an UNDecider in our family: HER sister…I am sending a link to this post to her…I wonder if she will see herself in the post…maybe she will decide to read it…or maybe not!

  7. I think you and I may be related. My mother took me and my sister out for lunch. I asked where everyone wanted to go. “I don’t care.” I am the Decider when we are all together. It’s too much responsibility.

  8. Sometimes decisive people can’t make a decision. It’s a quandary I tell ya!

  9. Flip-flops to the school concert? Why is it that children never get cold?
    I find her indecisiveness quite charming.
    By the way, does everyone in your family call her Dimples? It’s an adorable nickname.

  10. My children are a little too decisive for my taste lately. My ten-year-old is anti-winter jacket. She is sticking with that decision. And shivering.

  11. What in the heck is wrong, strike that, going on in our kids heads? Tank top, sandals and blue jeans Daughter had on. It was 9 degrees for the high. She is 17. I am sorry to tell you that you may very well be right. Dimples will forever remain her on women with her own ways. 😉

  12. Chancy, Mumsy and Crew

    What a great read this post is. I love it!! Hugs and nose kisses

Leave a Reply

