This is a Private Service Announcement Brought to You by Wonderbutt

As part of your On Demand Subscription package to WhatIMeant2Say, you will now be receiving irregular Dog Toy Reviews.  I don’t Mean2Say that we will be reviewing irregular dog toys.  WhatIMeant2Say is that we will, from time to time, on an irregular, unpredictable basis, be reviewing dog toys.  Having this nifty little feature added to your already valuable bundle should make you feel quite the envy of all non-WhatIMeant2Say subscribers.

Mrs. P.I.B. , our 10 year old golden retriever, was never a chewer.  She prefers, even now, to obsessively lick her toys.

Wonderbutt, our 1 year old bulldog, is the opposite.  He licks us obsessively and completely annihilates his toys.

So, it is quite a challenge to find toys that will last more than a week against the razor sharp teeth of Wonderbutt.

I realize Mrs. P.I.B. is somewhat of an anomaly, so I think that there will be many dog owners out there who might appreciate my new idea – the Wonderbutt Toy Reviews.

I have decided that whenever we find a toy that can withstand the perils of a Wonderbutt household, it deserves an award.  So, today I unveil the P.A.W. (Product Approved by Wonderbutt), given to only the most durable and infinitely entertaining dog toys.

Considering my recent confession of my less than kind feelings toward acronyms, you might question my choice of using one for this award.  Questioning and criticizing are not part of the Basic On Demand Subscription package, so you will have to upgrade to the Premium Package if you have an uncontrollable desire to insult me.

For our first award, Wonderbutt and I have chosen the Hurley, an unlikely toy I chanced upon at Dogologie in Fredericksburg.

According to westpawdesign.com, "Hurley is guaranteed against dog damage and West Paw Design makes it easy to give this durable dog toy a try with a one-time refund or replacement."

It made bold promises on the packaging, and I immediately thought this would be a great idea for a blog – Wonderbutt’s destruction of an”indestructible” toy.  With accompanying pictures, of course.

Alas, as all bloggers know, planned catastrophes for the sake of blog fodder are about as successful as planned wars in the Middle East.

At first, I was a little disappointed, I must admit.  It seems that the toy really is indestructible – but not because of its extreme durability. Wonderbutt had absolutely no desire to play with it.  It was almost as if, with one look, he could tell that he was not going to be able to shred it, so he decided not to waste his time.

With a little more involvement from the Family Firepants, though, things changed.  Wonderbutt suddenly became interested when the toy went shooting past his head and boomeranged off the wall into Mrs. P.I.B. Now that he could see its potential, it was Game ON.

First of all, this thing bounces wildly, but it rolls very little.  This is an important distinction because Wonderbutt and Mrs. P.I.B.’s favorite game to play is to roll their toys under the furniture and then behave like Lassie when Timmy’s in the well until we get them out.

Secondly, this toy is slippery.  Not slippery/slobbery like some toys get and you are disgusted by ever touching them.  Slippery enough so that when Wonderbutt thunders past you at 200 miles per hour you can whisk it out of his mouth, making him stop short and do a somersault into the bedroom door in the hallway.  It’s a beautiful thing, and it happens every time. (As an added bonus, I don’t have to play Tug of War and end up with Wonderbutt’s jaw clamped down on my fingers instead of his toy.)

And thirdly, Wonderbutt has not been able to get any chunks out of this eco-friendly toy.  Believe you me, the dog has tried.  He has gotten quite a few chunks out of me while attempting to mutilate the toy.

Unfortunately, the company will not replace me, though Cap’n Firepants has tried.

And fourthly, it’s buoyant.  Since our bulldog is barely buoyant himself, I think we will probably not need to test that feature.

So, go out and buy a Hurley from westpawdesign.com as soon as you can.  And, if you have a dog, you should think about getting him or her one, too.  Wonderbutt recommends it.

This Product is Officially Endorsed by Wonderbutt

Posted on January 13, 2012, in Blogging, Dogs, Humor, Mrs. P.I.B., Wonderbutt and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 33 Comments.

  1. Thanks wonderbutt! My 15 lb killer of a guard dog we like to call Sid Viscious aka Molly will probably not be as thrilled with this toy as I am. She prefers to tear the felt off tennis balls until they are down to the bare rubber, leaving lovely yellow piles here and there through out the house, and every once in a while will have a yellow fuzzy tendral hanging from her lip because she has gotten it stuck in her teeth like a stubborn popcorn kernel. I am then forced to hold her down against her will and detangle it from her predatory jaws. This sounds like a much better alternative.
    KP

  2. “Slippery enough so that when Wonderbutt thunders past you at 200 miles per hour you can whisk it out of his mouth, making him stop short and do a somersault into the bedroom door in the hallway.”

    This visual made me laugh! I love it. Thanks.

  3. Wonderbutt, any toy that is good enough for you is good enough for me. Come on person, check out that website.

  4. Hi!
    Great review and I had to laugh at the descriptions that gave me great visuals! I’ll have to look into these for some of the collies seem to be trying to set records in how fast they can destroy a toy. Others love them and carry them around and enjoy them like they are company. This will beat the eyeless, headless, armless or legless assorted bunch of toys we have now… 🙂

    Great post!

    God Bless You!
    The Collies and Chuck 🙂

  5. I love the idea of a PAW Award and Wonderbutt is the perfect tester 🙂

  6. I’m so glad you got him on board with this toy. There is nothing more frustrating than spending a chunk of change on something they won’t even play with, kid OR dog.

  7. Hey Wonderbutt: I sent HER a message to pick up one of those Hurleys for me…do they come in extra small size?

  8. I want to see a video of “secondly”.

  9. Chancy, Mumsy and Crew

    Wow!! A Wonderbutt proof toy that is great!!! We must say you look mighty pleased too with it there in your mouth. We are so happy for all of you that you have stumbled upon this fine toy. Play on!!! Nice review and thanks for the info. Hugs and nose kisses

  10. I have a cat that loves to play with wrapping paper and ribbons (so Christmas is very easily her favorite holiday) but I lived with my grandma for a few years who had a golden retriever and has a little carin (SP?) terrier. She looks like Toto, but it’s always hard to find toys that she doesn’t have to worry about falling apart. Especially the ones with squeakers inside. She’s afraid she’ll swallow it.

    • Those squeakers can be scary! They now sell toys with extra squeakers, which seems to kind of ignore the fact that if something happens to the first squeaker – such as fatal ingestion – one would probably not want to replace it.

  11. Try the black kong. It must be the black one. Also try the road kill toys. They are stuffies without the stuff. Ya know they are flatten…like road kill. Let me know if they pass the WB test.

    • The stuffies, unfortunately, do not pass the WB test. We have tried those, and he still likes to tear them apart, despite the fact that there is no reward for this disembowelment. We have not tried the black kong with him yet – but we do have another kong toy that I plan to feature in a future segment.

  12. Sherman also suffers from HDD (Highly Destructive Dogginess) and I have to choose his toys so carefully. He has brought a swift end to numerous “indestructible” toys in mere hours. I’ll be watching for the P.A.W. ratings to see if there’s something we can try.

    Last Christmas, because he was still a puppy, my momma bought him a little stuffed duck: it had a lifespan of four minutes. I couldn’t bring myself to admit to her that he’d disemboweled it and torn off its head during one set of tv commercials.

  13. Hmmmm….. I’m not much of a toy player either. I do have my favorite squeaky toy, but that’s more of a comfort object. woo woo woo!

  14. You wrote a really good review. I am ready to buy it and I don’t have a dog. You had me at eco-friendly… 🙂

  15. My dogs love their stuffed animals the best. They love racing each other to rip them apart within an hour. They love slowly ingesting them bit by bit. And I suspect they love the look on my face when I recognize bits of toy in the poop on the yard.

  16. I love the idea of a PAW Award and Wonderbutt is the perfect tester 🙂

  1. Pingback: Help! « whatimeant2say

  2. Pingback: Just Call Me Nostradumpyass « whatimeant2say

  3. Pingback: Wonderbutt vs. The Box « whatimeant2say

  4. Pingback: This Kong is the King « whatimeant2say

Leave a Reply

