I Know What You’re Thinking…

Wonderbutt tries to take off with the jeans that I knew would someday be too tight. Somehow, I knew he would try to do that.

So, yesterday, when I was on my Nostradumpyass kick, I somehow used the dubious success of my fatness prediction to convince myself that I had temporary psychic powers.  I knew what song would be on the radio when we switched stations (LMFAO’s “Sexy and I Know It” – big surprise), and I knew where Dimples would want to go after our dentist appointment (Orange Leaf – which, it turns out, is where we went the last time she had work done on her teeth).

Anyway, while we were driving back from the dentist, I heard on the radio that the San Antonio Spurs were going to play the Sacramento Kings this Friday, and it occurred to me that Cap’n Firepants hadn’t gotten his annual free tickets yet.  One of the guys he knows has season tickets, and always offers a game to us at some point.

Five minutes later, the Cap’n texted me, “Want to see the Spurs Friday night?”

Frightening, huh?

Of course, I didn’t read the text until I reached a stop light five minutes later because I was driving at the time and I don’t want to be a bad role model for Dimples.  Not to mention break the law or kill somebody.

As soon as I read that text, though, which completely proved my amazing psychic ability, I texted back, “Yes!”  And I told Dimples, who was in the back seat, “Guess what!  We’re going to the Spurs game Friday night!”

Green light.

Then, as we started driving again, it occurred to me that Dimples already had a previous engagement Friday night.

Oops.

A couple of problems here besides the obvious conflict now noted.  A.)  I was still driving, so I would have to wait to let the Cap’n know about this glitch and 2.)  I had forgotten to put Dimples’ social event on our Family Calendar.  Which we all share on our iDevices.  I have been known to berate Cap’n Firepants for forgetting to add things to the Calendar.  I have also been known to get upset when he does not look at what I have added to the Calendar.

A devious plan came to mind in which I could add the event at the next stoplight, and then I would not be the only one to blame, supposedly, for not checking the calendar before saying yes.  But I am not devious with Cap’n Firepants because I am an Irish/Italian Catholic with tons of guilt who is unable to be devious with anyone even during a game a poker.  Plus, I love him and you’re not supposed to do that.

So, I got Dimples to call the Cap’n while I was driving, hoping to cut him off from accepting the free tickets that we weren’t going to be able to use.

But it was too late.  He had agreed to the tickets, and there went our one chance to see a pro basketball game this season from seats that didn’t cause nose hemorrhages.

Lesson learned.

I may be Nostradumpyass, but telling the future isn’t very helpful when you can’t even remember your future plans that you already made.

Posted on January 17, 2012, in Cap'n Firepants, Children, Dimples, Family, Humor, Relationships, Wonderbutt and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. I’m sorry about that. That’s no fun. I hate forgetting things. I blame technology.

  2. You’ll have to use your psychic abilities and watch the game in your mind.

  3. Looks like you airballed it.

  4. It is so weird when that happens! But, sucks about you forgetting. I hope Cap’n isn’t mad at you!

  5. I hope you don’t mind, but one person didn’t get the ‘Wonderbutt’ reference on my blog, so I linked back to you. 🙂

  1. Pingback: WhatImeant2say has a Wonderbutt « JustUs Society

Leave a Reply

