I’m About to Jump Off the Cliffs of Insanity

 

Cool, huh? Credits down below.

Inigo Montoya: I donna suppose you could speed things up?

Man in Black: If you’re in such a hurry, you could lower a rope or a tree branch or find something useful to do.

Inigo Montoya: I could do that. I have some rope up here, but I do not think you would accept my help, since I am only waiting around to kill you.

Man in Black: That does put a damper on our relationship.

So, here is my new method to combat Writer’s Block.  I have decided that when this dastardly disease descends upon me, I shall Google the quotes to one of my favorite movies, close my eyes, scroll the mouse up and down as fast as I can, click the mouse, and open my eyes to see which quote I have landed upon.  I will base my post on that quote.

I don’t like this method.

What the heck am I supposed to do with this quote (from The Princess Bride, in case you are not an obsessed fan who has memorized every line)?

Am I supposed to pretend that it’s a metaphor for my relationship with my writing?  Am I the Man in Black, and my writing is Inigo Montoya?

This is stupid.

Why would my writing be waiting around to kill me?

I mean, I could see how the metaphor works for my part.  I am the strong Man in Black, climbing up the steep Cliffs of Insanity, determined to arrive at the top, no matter what obstacles get put in my way.

But why would my writing be out to get me?  That would be an example of personification gone dramatically wrong, in my opinion.

O.K.  Let’s dig a little deeper here.  Inigo is trying to kill the Man in Black because he was ordered to by Fezzik.

Who would order my writing to destroy me?

Yeah.  That doesn’t work.

Maybe, my writing does not want to destroy me; it is just eager to engage me in a test of swordsmanship – like Inigo was to show off his skills to the Man in Black.

So, my writing wants to challenge me to a duel.

Who am I kidding?  I am no Man in Black.

I am a wimpy woman in sweatpants highly skilled in the roundhouse kick as practiced on my Tae Bo video – without making contact with any flesh.  At least not on purpose.  I did kick Cap’n Firepants once while doing my video, but that was an accident, I swear.

O.K.  Let’s try switching this little metaphor around.  I am Inigo Montoya, the man who is an expert swordsman, and just doesn’t have the one person he trained to kill in front of him.

The Man in Black is my writing, trying to reach me, but I am hesitant to drop the rope and make it easier.

Why the heck would I be hesitant to drop the rope?

If my writing is any character in this scene, it is the weaselly, long absent Fezzik, who has run away from The Man in Black, leaving Inigo to deal with the problem.

Yep.  That’s my writing – a long-winded, egotistical, know-it-all – bullying and taunting everyone who crosses in front of his 4 foot 2, dumpy little, bald-headed body.

Ah, that felt good.

But I have a feeling my Writer’s Block might decided to stick around for awhile.

I think I need a drink...

Inigo Name Tag photo credit: <a href=”http://www.flickr.com/photos/rakka/2575763772/”>Rakka</a&gt; via <a href=”http://photopin.com”>photopin</a&gt; <a href=”http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/2.0/”>cc</a&gt;
Inigo Montoya Barphoto credit: <a href=”http://www.flickr.com/photos/hanan_cohen/54800600/”>Hanan Cohen</a> via <a href=”http://photopin.com”>photopin</a&gt; <a href=”http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/2.0/”>cc</a&gt;
Posted on January 24, 2012, in Blogging, Cap'n Firepants, Humor, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 15 Comments.

  1. I think that just made my brain explode a little. It is a good thing I have been slowly building up a tolerance to Iocane powder.

    That made no sense. I am in a severe creative slump lately so I totally understand the writers block. I am convinced that MY writing is out to get me.

  2. I think you’ll be fine. Because I know something you do not know – you are not left handed.
    Ok, you would know if you were. And you might actually be.

    Still, for a writers block post, this was very entertaining. Though the lounge pic at the end is just sad…

  3. But you know something your writer’s block doesn’t know – you are not left-handed.

    It must be something to do with January. Seems like a lot of us are struggling with writer’s block in one form or another. Keep at it and you’ll get through it. Have you ever tried the 100 Word Challenges for Grown-ups (http://jfb57.wordpress.com/2012/01/23/100-word-challenge-for-grown-ups-week-28/)? They are a great way to prime the pump. Good luck!

  4. So maybe it’s the English major in me talking but perhaps your writing is neither the man in black nor Inigo but rather the cliff! YOU are the man in black working to conquer the cliff. Wonderbutt is Inigo in that scene watching you struggle from his post atop the couch but making no real effort to help. 🙂

  5. Seems like it worked pretty well 🙂

    “Hello. My name is Inigo Montoya. You killed my father. Prepare to die.”

    hehe

  6. Awesome. I think it worked. And that first picture has to be the best thing I have ever seen, ever. I think I know what I’m watching when I’m not sleeping after my teeth extraction. And writers block is a bitch. I hate it. I think your post beats mine today. I’ve got writers block, too. Writers block would make me jump off the cliffs of insanity.

  7. Obviously Wonderbutt is not doing his job.

  8. I don’t know, but if I had landed on that quote, I could have spouted off about how my husband knows every line to that movie and quotes that stupid peanut quote all the time. Ugh! Still. Even after he’s supposedly grown up. That would have been a great way to solve my writer’s block. Yeah, I totally think it’s January. All I want to do is bundle up and hibernate. Maybe we will all just flinch through each other’s posts still spring, understanding. (I thought the photo at the end was pretty funny.)

  9. Sounds like what we have here is a failure to communicate.

  10. At least you didn’t click on, “You seem a decent fellow, I hate to kill you.”

  11. If you can turn this into an enjoyable read (which you did), I’m pretty sure, you’ll be fine 😉

    And I really love the graphic on top – that’s too cool! I wonder if I could reproduce that and even more, if my b.f. would let me “decorate” our walls like that?

    fun, fun, fun

    🙂

  12. yea, even with writer’s block it was a good read! Writer’s Block sucks though, but if it makes you feel any better it never seems you even struggle with it. 🙂

  13. There is no movie more worthy of quoting…

  14. Writer’s block?
    Inconceivable.

  15. The question is, have the read the novel that the film is based on? Read that bad boy, and writer’s block will run screaming from your home.

    I’ve been in a similar place lately, fighting myself for something decent to say. I think it may be because we’ve entered the year of the dragon or something. Or maybe it’s exam week. I don’t know.

Leave a Reply

