What College Fund? This Money is for Therapy.

When I was a kid, I got an allowance.  I was allowed to spend it on anything I wanted.  I usually chose to spend it on candy.  My idea of luxury was buying a giant chocolate bar on which I would gnaw while I sprawled out on my bed and read a Nancy Drew book.

When we went to the lake during the summer, I went to the snack bar every 15 minutes to get a cream soda or a candy necklace.

It wasn’t until I was a Junior in High School that my mother and step-dad informed me they would not be paying for college.  Too late to get back all of the money I’d blown for 8 years on Hershey bars.

When I grew up, I continued wise spending and eating habits by rewarding myself with yummy food for every success and every failure that effected my daily life.

Thus, an eating disorder was born.

Our daughter, Dimples, gets an allowance, too.  And she is allowed to spend it how she wants. (minus the 1/3 for charity and 1/3 for savings) Basically, she spends it on whatever she wants that we won’t buy her.  I kind of worried that she would spend it foolishly like I did, but she has does not seem interested in spending her hard-earned money on empty calories.

Whether her addiction is as foolish as mine, I will let you be the judge.  It seems that, lately, my nine-year-old has developed, like me, an appreciation for sweets.  However, she prefers to use a different sense with which to savor them – her sense of smell.  Thus, her picture of a perfect day is not complete without a trip to Bath and Body Works.

The kid is obsessed with every product that store sells.  She surfs their website, looking for new scents, exclaims over each individual item every time we enter the story, and showed more emotion when I gave her a Bath and Body Works gift box for Christmas than she showed for the rest of her presents combined.

Have you seen the Kristin Bell video from Ellen showing when her husband surprised her with a rented sloth (complete with habitat) for her birthday?  That’s nearly the reaction Dimples had when she got a Bath and Body works gift card from one of her friends (Perfect Friend) for Christmas.

She even has a designated cubby for her alarmingly growing collection of hand-sanitizers, room fresheners, and shower gels.

Three more allowances, and the books might have to make room for the bottles.

Obviously, this is better than my wasted dollars on edible treats.  But I still feel like this can’t have good long-term results.  Instead of an eating disorder, will she develop a smelling one?  Does she need to visit a therapist to determine the underlying cause of her cravings for Caribbean Escape anti-bacterial soap and Sweet Pea fragrance mist?

Strangely, this dependency began after we acquired our dear Noxious Fume Passer, Wonderbutt, her sometimes not so favorite canine sibling- but I’m sure that’s just a coincidence…

Posted on February 9, 2012, in Children, Dimples, Dogs, Family, Humor, Parenting, Relationships, Wonderbutt and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 22 Comments.

  1. Anything that becomes an obsession could be dangerous but this seems more like a coping mechanism than an obsession. Who wouldn’t rather be surrounded by sweet peas than canine pees

  2. mmmmmmmmmm… hershey bars! Reeses Peanut Butter cups,…. nom, nom, nom, After much deliberation and hershey treats we feel that Dimples will go to college and her dorm will be the best smelling in the college.. 🙂

    Your friends,
    The Collies and Chuck 🙂

  3. The pic looks like she is pretty organized with her stuff too. You’re going to have to watch that one…she is going to look good (no eating disorder complications), smell good, and take good care of her stuff…your biggest problem might be boys. 😉

  4. My daughter has developed an attachment to Bath and Bodyworks stuff, too. If Dimple buys the stuff herself, be sure to sign up for their on-line coupons. There’s never a need to pay full-price for anything there when there is always a coupon or a sale.

  5. As long as she’s not ingesting her B&B stuff, all’s good!

  6. That’s really cute, I love how her allowance is split into savings/charity/free choice, that’s really sensible. She seems very organised as well!

  7. My niece is obsessed with this stuff, too. There are worse addictions. And at least she’ll smell pretty.

  8. I think she’s gathering them all in one place and stockpiling the scents for an all out assault on Wonderbutt at some point…

  9. hysterical. has she met scentsy? my boy (who is also obsessed with smells) used to like bath and bodyworks (in a totally manly way), but now likes scentsy. yeah – i’m a *little* worried.

  10. I was obsessed with bath and body works when I was a kid, but back then they had a nice kids’ section with kid appealing scents. Now I have 3 large bottles of body spray and too much lotion I never use. I’m sure she’ll grow out of it.

  11. emilymayes@att.net

    Dang it! I am getting into a bad habit of reading the blog on my phone and not commenting- or commenting in my head. I loved the Kristen Bell video so that helped me realize Dimple’s love for B&B. I wouldn’t worry about it… 🙂

Leave a Reply

