The (Escape) Artist

Our bulldog, Wonderbutt, has a dog door that leads to a pen on the side of our house.  The pen is a crude production of chicken wire and rebar created by my husband, Cap’n Firepants.  This is where Wonderbutt, if he is so inclined, does his “business”.  We do not allow him to roam the rest of the yard unsupervised because he is a canine vacuum cleaner, and we are afraid he will either choke or poison himself.

It was a great surprise, then, when Cap’n Firepants arrived home from work last week, and made his way back to the Forbidden Section of the house where Dimples and I were busy doing mostly nothing.

“Did you know Wonderbutt is in the backyard?” the Cap’n inquired.

It took a moment for that to sink in.

“What do you mean?”

“I mean that I came in the front door, and there was Wonderbutt peering in the back door, barking his head off at me.”

Dimples and I looked at each other, and we all moved quickly to the living room.  Sure enough, Wonderbutt was sitting outside the back door, peering forlornly into the house.  He did not seem too happy about his self-inflicted freedom.

We went outside in order to solve the mystery.  As soon as we opened the back door, Wonderbutt made a beeline into the house.

Moving to inspect the Poop Pen, Dimples and I immediately noticed that the chicken wire had been pushed down to the ground.  Great detectives that we are, we surmised that this was how Wonderbutt had escaped.  I shoved the chicken wire back up.

Cap’n Firepants rounded the corner, and I explained the Pushed Down Wire Theory.  The Cap’n looked doubtful.  He pointed to a portion of the pen where it appeared that the wire had been lifted up near the ground.

“He probably went out there.”

I raised an eyebrow.  This is my mild way of saying that I disagree with Cap’n Firepants.  He just stares back at me when I do this, so it is not very effective.

During this standoff, Wonderbutt decided to pop through the dog door.  Without hesitation, he raced over to where the Cap’n and I were standing, shoved the chicken wire down with his paws, and leaped over the pen out into the backyard so he could be with us.

I smiled.

Cap’n Firepants shook his head and went back inside.

For the purposes of this blog, I tried to get Wonderbutt to re-enact his Great Escape without actually encouraging him to break out.  I raised the wire again, and stood on the other side, ready to video tape.

This was the result – and our own little Oscar tribute.

Posted on February 27, 2012, in Cap'n Firepants, Dimples, Dogs, Family, Humor, Wonderbutt and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 34 Comments.

  1. They never perform on command. We believe you though.

  2. Love the Oscar comment. So he just pulled the fence down with his paws? He deserves an Oscar. Maybe that’s what he was trying to tell you. 😉

  3. Also, You know that game I mentioned playing on Friday? Would you be okay with playing Saturday instead? We might be able to get more people because it’s not a work day.

  4. Wonderbutt, the trick is to never let your people know just how you do it.

  5. Hmm, I’m not convinced – in the video he didn’t actually get over the chicken wire 🙂 Maybe Cap’n Firepants is right 🙂 Great video -very creative!

  6. Just like kids, you can never get that moment back once you get the camera out. Such a shame because you did such a nice job with the video editing and music and all.

  7. HA HA HA HA HA HA!!! What a great post! Only, Wonderbutt didnt convince us! hmmmm…. Love the Benny Goodman Sing, Sing, Sing one of my favorite tunes! Thank you for another great laugh.. your blog is one our highlights everyday! 🙂 THis is one great video!

    Your laughing friends,
    The Collies and chuck 🙂

  8. Love the song, love the video, In awe of Wonderbutt, and his expression of “Yeah, and?”

  9. Haha, looking innocent and sweet as pie. He really did deserve that Oscar for the great acting…

  10. A cimematic masterpiece! Timeless!! Bravo!!!

  11. I will trade you Wonderbutt for a cat that can actually open doors – he has become a menace 🙂

  12. Love this post! The video made it! Thanks for the chuckle WB!

  13. That’s so funny. Wonderbutt is definitely the Yin to Savannah’s Yang.

    I just let her out the backdoor and she’ll just stand on the patio checking out the neighborhood. I don’t even watch her anymore.

    I’ll got back to let her in a few minutes later and sometimes she just looks at me as if to say, “I’m not ready yet.”

    I’ll leave her out there and go back to let her in later. She’ll look at me then take off running, more like prancing, off the patio into the yard.

    She’ll have been outside for nearly 10 minute just standing there looking around, oh, and eating snow (when we have it). Then she remembers why I let her out in the first place!! haha…

  14. Go WonderButt, GOOOOOOO!

    I have a question waiting for you on my ‘Blog Tag’ post….

  15. Sing, Sing, Sing, possibly one of my favorite big band songs. Wonderbutt is getting smarter! He might realize he can train you soon. I’d watch out.
    And you already know my love for The Artist so it goes without saying how much I enjoyed your video. 😀

  16. Oh my god, I love it! Wonderbutt is a star.

  1. Pingback: March’s Dead Rubber Post – Part Uno « whatimeant2say

Leave a Reply

