I Need a Prescription for Media Overload

“You can’t have everything. Where would you put it?” ~ Steven Wright

It’s already happening.  I am losing my grip on reality.

One of my fifth graders asked me yesterday if I knew anything about Kony 2012.  I thought she was talking about some kind of organized protest against the closing of Coney Island.  Or a hotdog.  I made her repeat it three times.

Finally, I had to Google it.  It turned out to be a viral video that the entire world had seen but me.   And not your usual dog-with-a-garbage-can-lid-on-his-head viral video.  A disturbing one about a man forcing children to be brutal soldiers in Uganda.  I’m a little concerned that a ten year old knew all about this.  (Actually, a few of them knew about it.  And had seen it.)  What really bothered me, though – because we all know how self-centered I am – was that I knew nothing about it until she brought it up.  I’m usually on top of these things.  But not this time.

It’s that danged Sirius radio Cap’n Firepants installed in my car.

Before I got satellite radio, I listened to NPR 99% of my driving time.  Partly because I like to be informed about current events.  And partly because there was crap on the local radio stations.

Now that I have so many choices, though, I rarely turn to NPR.   (Apparently, Adele’s “Set Fire to the Rain” is NOT the only song in the world.) So, now, I get my daily dose of the news watching HLN while I am brushing my teeth in the morning.  Somehow I missed HLN’s in-depth coverage of Kony 2012 – but did get to see two darn cute kindergarten boys from San Antonio, one of whom saved the other from choking on a Cheeto in one of our local school cafeterias.  Oh, and a story about a chicken nugget that looked like George Washington that had a winning bid on eBay of $8,000.  (Don’t panic.  The winner backed out on his bid, so all is not lost.)

I know that I could listen to NPR on my satellite radio, but suddenly being informed does not seem quite as important as listening to an acoustic version of “Don’t Stand So Close to Me” on The Coffee House station.  Or listening to comedian Steven Wright thinking out loud about the lack of advertising for string.  And if singing along to Colbie Calliat’s mashup of “Breakeven” and “Chasing Cars” is wrong, well I don’t want to be Wright.

If Robin and Friends on HLN can’t bring me up to speed in the 5 minutes I watch every morning, I guess I’ll just have to depend on my fifth graders to fill me in on all of the human rights atrocities and political sniping that I’m missing from now on as I waste my time getting Sirius.

Posted on March 9, 2012, in Cap'n Firepants, Humor, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 24 Comments.

  1. I used to listen to NPR too. We are such nerds.

  2. Kids are always way ahead of us – ha!

  3. I kept seeing Kony 2012 on Facebook and thought it was one of those viruses and never clicked on it.

    Then I saw something about it on some national news channel and figured I was wrong. hahaha…

  4. My person finally found this video five minutes ago on another blog, but no time to sit and watch it. Too many blogs to read – too many trails she needs to take me out on.

  5. I still haven’t seen the video. I don’t have any time, but I read about it, and it is horrible.
    Reality is no fun. I don’t blame you for becoming disconnected from it, even if you didn’t mean to.

  6. You can’t know EVERYTHING.

    Unlike me.

  7. It is difficult to escape the incessant and often graphic media. I am sure it desensitizes people. It is sad that children could also be affected in this way.

  8. Oh no… I’ve just realized that I am falling into the same pit of unknowledge. Just got a car with sirius and suddenly NPR is gone and The Bridge is here.

  9. I used to listen to NPR a ton, too, but I don’t now because I hate not hearing the whole program, and with kids…I don’t hear the whole program! I do listen to The Coffee House station, though! And I love The Bridge, too!

  10. Lake Wobegon? er…. thats my extent of NPR… LOL…. There is a lot of media overload going on right now… believe me… I experience everyday. Great post!

    Your friends,
    The Collies and Chuck 🙂

  11. Egads – thank you for warning me – don’t think I want that image in my head.

  12. Ooh, the Coffee House is on in my car, too. I miss important news, but I have good music which is more uplifting than the news! 🙂

  1. Pingback: Psychology Current Events | Living History

Leave a Reply

