Monté, You’re Not a Wuss in Boots!

We missed our dogs, Wonderbutt and Mrs. Pain in the Butt, while we were visiting our Houston cousins.  But, one of the many perks of visiting our relatives, the Globetrotters, is that they also have two dogs.  It helps us to not miss our own two Butts quite as much.  The canine Globetrotters always keep us amused with their antics.  And they seem to have a special affection for Dimples.

Lola, the Boxer, waits forlornly outside any room into which Dimples might temporarily disappear.  She then covers Dimples with kisses upon her return.

Monté, the Jack Russell, tirelessly delivers his toy to Dimples as she sits on the couch playing Mario Kart.  After each delivery he waits, patiently poised, for Dimples to fling the toy across the room.

Monté, the oldest of the two dogs, enjoys watching T.V.  He was particularly entranced with Dimples’ choice of movie one night – Puss in Boots.  He spent most of the movie standing in front of the television stand, staring intently at the screen.  If Monté felt that any of the characters were crossing the line of good behavior, he would grab whatever toy happened to be the nearest, and ferociously growl while he whipped the toy back and forth in his mouth.

I am pretty certain that Puss would not have prevailed if Monté had not been so vigilant throughout the film.

Poor Monté has suffered from allergies since his move to Houston a year ago, resulting in an attempt by the Globetrotters to curtail his incessant licking of his paws by putting socks on him.

Despite the ultra masculine skull and crossbones on these socks, Monté does not allow them to stay on his feet.

 

I think that he is afraid that this restriction of his paws will not allow him to be fully aware of the constant threats from which he must protect the Globetrotter residence.

Unfortunately, the Dynamic Duo could do nothing to protect us from the return of my nemesis:

OMG! Are you pointing at me, Big Mean Kitty? Did you just say, "You're goin' down, Mrs. Cap'n Firepants!"?

I think it’s time to get back to San Antonio.

Posted on March 18, 2012, in Big Mean Kitty, Children, Dimples, Dogs, Family, Humor and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 23 Comments.

  1. LOL!!! That mean stuffed kitty!!! Knock the stuffing out of her Mrs. Firepants! It is interesting how some dogs watch TV and some dont….. Mick one time tried to get in the TV to help a woman who was in there screaming! LOL… Love those socks….. I want a pair for myself! 🙂

    Your friends,
    the collies and chuck 🙂

    • Mrs. P.I.B. only pays attention to the TV if there is an alarm going off or a doorbell. Wonderbutt attacked the TV once, nearly giving the Cap’n a heart attack that his precious TV would be knocked off the stand. But, all was well, and Wonderbutt has ignored it ever since.

  2. Awwww- we have a Boxer and she does exactly the same stuff as Lola. She also thinks she is a cat.

    Perhaps I will have to share some pictures of my furry dog-cat.

  3. I’m glad that you have had fun. I’m sure your own dogs are missing you, but those ones are so cute too! Just don’t tell Wonderbutt, he might get jealous.

  4. i am not a dog lover, but those dogs are damn cute. our golden had a pad injury once and after taping it hubby put a sock on it. he HATED it and acted like he didn’t have a leg. it was pretty funny and pathetic. love those socks. way cuter than the ones we made ours wear. glad you guys had fun. damn wordpress is not letting me comment anymore as myself. i now have to comment as my wordpress account person. (it’s me – dayinthelife).

  5. ok. well, that was dumb. now it’s letting me. doh!

  6. Monte is adorable.

  7. Lola’s eyes in that second pic. – brilliant!

  8. The last photo and caption is hilarious 🙂

  9. I love watching tv with my dad, Alf always sits with mom and Jess crashes out on the floor. If only I could keep my eyes open until the end of the film…yawn…zzzzzzzzz

  10. I wonder if he needs the dog socks to protect him from wounds inflicted by Big Mean Kitty.
    I think the “licking the paws” story is just the Globetrotters hiding their shame…

  11. I also find that when I miss my own butt I enjoy playing with the butts of others. What?

  12. Glad you got some puppy lovin’ while you were gone. You all were smart to skip out on most of the reconstruction going on!

Leave a Reply

