Nurse Wonderbutt

Our daughter, Dimples, has been a sullen teenager for over a week now.  She is nine.  For the past ten days, she has been a bundle of emotions – mostly sad and grumpy – and often dissolving into tears at the slightest provocation.  The latest catastrophe was her father’s failure to find the note that she had left on her night table under piles of tissue requesting eggs for breakfast the next morning.  He served cereal.  This betrayal was almost too much for her to bear.

My alarm at this early onset of teen moodiness was somewhat calmed by her seeming return to her cheerful self Monday afternoon.  This transformation coincided with the lessening of her mutant cold virus  symptoms – and with their transference to me.

As soon as I woke up Tuesday morning, I felt like I had been smacked to the floor by our bulldog, Wonderbutt, about a thousand times.  I immediately understood why Dimples has been so inconsolable lately, and wished that I had been more understanding.  The onset of this miserable virus made slitting my wrists an extremely appealing alternative.

Without Dimple’s stamina from dancing and synchronized swimming – and, let’s face it, I’m not even close to being nine years old – I quickly buckled in surrender.  I informed the Cap’n I was not going to work today.  Not wishing to inflict my startling emotional and physical symptoms on the world at large, the Cap’n concurred that this was a fine idea.

I slept in, and got up about 10 to get some cereal.  In the living room, our bulldog, Wonderbutt, looked at me defiantly from his perch on the Cap’n’s leather chair.  He had been busy while I slept – dismantling a couch cushion.  I sighed.  I know it was because he heard me stirring in the bedroom, and was upset I had not come out to visit him that morning.

I went back to bed after the cereal.  Returning to the kitchen, I realized that Wonderbutt had decided to add to his earlier work by pulling down another couch cushion, ripping off the zipper, and depositing fuzz and foam all over the floor.  It was apparent that his frustration at my retreat from the world was mounting.

After lunch, I decided to sit in the chair with Wonderbutt to assure him that I was not planning to ignore him forever.  He immediately settled into my lap and contentedly put his head down.  I fell asleep, too, half-sitting up and leaning against the arm rest.  And there we stayed for an hour or so, with me twisted like a pretzel to accommodate our 71 pound bulldog, and our happy bulldog snoring with his tongue hanging out as though he had not had an opportunity to relax all day.

And I felt better.

Sitting on the chair with him, I had to hold the camera up high so he couldn't bite the lens off of it. With no idea what I was taking a picture of, this is what I got. Not bad, huh? Especially for someone with a mutant cold.

Posted on March 28, 2012, in Cap'n Firepants, Dimples, Dogs, Family, Humor, Wonderbutt and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 29 Comments.

  1. We loved hearing that a cuddle with Wonderbutt made you feel better. We’re sure he loved it too. He looks so handsome in the photo!
    Bella and DiDi

  2. What a sweetheart. Sorry you are sick. Hopefully you get all rested up and feeling better soon. Maybe you should just take the rest of the week off. They can get a substitute right?

    That is one of my 7-year-old’s favorite words, but he says it is “substi-toot” with a sly smile on his face. He also likes “duty” because it sounds like “doodie”.

    Thought you might be missing your second graders, so I threw in a little of their idea of humor. 😉

  3. I hope you don’t have what I have had since Jan. It seems to come and go at will. get well some and yes the picture was great

  4. Hope you feel better soon! Wonderbutt is so darn cute – I am sure he is hard to resist for a cuddle. 🙂

  5. Hi!
    We are so sorry you are sick and we are praying that you feel better soon! Wonderbutt is a cutie. Now you have to fill those cushions with something that is good for him…. that’ll stop him for sure.. hehehe

    God Bless You!

    The Collies and Chuck 🙂

  6. I hope you feel better soon. Animal cuddles always help. And sleeping.

  7. My daughter has been grumpy too and I told my husband either something happened at school or she’s getting sick. Time will tell. Feel better.

  8. Hope you start feeling better real soon. Drink your OJ and all that!

  9. Miranda Gargasz

    He’s an extremely heavy heating pad! The photo of him turned out lovely. Hope you feel better soon, especially with spring break coming!

  10. I see that Wonderbutt is still determined to pursue a career in interior (re)design with a penchant for soft furnishings 🙂 Hope you feel better soon!

  11. That crud is awful this year, hope you feel better soon! WB is looking very sweet and consoling this time around. 🙂

  12. Aww, that is so tough being sick- and then to have an exasperated bulldog destroying couch cushions… Hope you are feeling better!

  13. I sincerely hope that the mutant germs will be gone SOON. So not fun.

Leave a Reply

