We Can’t All. And Some of Us Don’t.

“Good morning, Pooh Bear,” said Eeyore gloomily. “If it is a good morning,” he said. “Which I doubt,” said he.”Why, what’s the matter?””Nothing, Pooh Bear, nothing. We can’t all, and some of us don’t. That’s all there is to it.””Can’t all what?” said Pooh, rubbing his nose.”Gaiety. Song-and-dance. Here we go round the mulberry bush.”

A few years ago, one of my friends informed me that the Winnie-the-Pooh character who I most resemble is Eeyore.

There is not a really good way to react to a statement like that.  Protesting kind of proves the point, unfortunately.  And cheerfully accepting it basically makes you a nut-head.

A couple of years later, I took a Winnie-the-Pooh personality test on the web, and was temporarily gratified that the results did not brand me an Eeyore.  Instead, I am Rabbit.  After digesting that news, I decided that I did not really care for that designation either.  Rabbit is quite cranky when you think about it.  And a bit of a know-it-all.  Eeyore may be gloomy, but at least he is lovable.  So, I took the test three more times, varying my responses to the questions.  And it came up Rabbit every time.  My students joined in on this psychological test, and did not get Rabbit – not one of them.

All of this information that you really didn’t want to know is leading up to my brand new addition to my Award Shelf – the Sunshine Award – an award that, despite its supposed incongruity with my personality, has been bestowed upon me by not one, but two, separate entities.  According to my in-depth research, this award goes to “bloggers who positively and creatively inspire others in the blogosphere”.  Ah hah!  Take that “Mrs. Cap’n Firepants is an Eeyore” proponents!  I am positive, woohoo!!!!!

So, a big thanks goes out to Paws to Talk and glutenvygirl for not only completing my Award Shelf, but for realizing that, deep down, way, way, way, deep down, I am a sunshiny person.  It’s too bad the people who have known me for years haven’t figured that out yet…

Well, as is the tradition of blogging awards, I am supposed to do something in order to get my cash prize.  Something about telling you stuff about me or some such nonsense.  Why would you want to know anything about me? Uh oh, was that Eeyorish?  That was, wasn’t it?  O.K.  In that case, let’s just say that I am far too busy to spend my time listing my glorious attributes.  Oops – a little bit of Rabbit peeking out right there.  Hmm.  What would Pooh say?  Oh yes.  I am very hungry, and I must go now to find something sweet to eat…

Posted on April 25, 2012, in Blogging, Humor and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 36 Comments.

  1. Congrats on your awards!!!!! YAY!! Now, why is the song “Hephelumps and Woozles” going through my head? LOL
    Eyore is a favorite of mine….. well time to be going for if I don’t a “roof may fall on my head.”
    *big grin*

    Your friends,
    the collies and chuck 🙂

  2. Congratulations on your awards! I think there’s no character I would want to be. Except maybe Kanga. She’s the only one without a DSM diagnosis.

  3. Oh, I am so taking that test! Congrats! Oh, and take a look at my post from yesterday – surprise!

  4. You are totally sunshine!! Besides, all of those A.A. Milne characters have their idiosyncrasies really. I certainly wouldn’t want to be Piglet and let’s face it, Tigger is kind of crazy… 😉

  5. Congratulations on the award! Apparently I’m Winnie-the-Pooh, which makes sense given my passion for food. Though I must say the part about being “a bit slow” was a little hard on my ego. 😉

  6. Hurrah! And well-deserved, say I.

    I rather covet your awards shelf, actually; but as a certin fictional donkey is fond of reminding us, we can’t all, and some of us don’t. 😉

    So I take my hat off to you! *hands you jar of honey*

  7. Congratulations, and good job at not following the rules!

  8. Good on you, Sunshine – hehe!

  9. i might be sunshiney deep, deep down too – so this gives me hope. ;o) huge congrats!!! totally deserved.

  10. Congrats, and best award lead in ever!

  11. Your posts always bring sunshine to my day! Congratulations on the award 🙂

  12. “Promise me you’ll always remember: You’re braver than you believe, and stronger than you seem, and smarter than you think.”
    ― A.A. Milne

    Congrats from another Pooh 🙂

  13. You’re gonna need a bigger shelf.

  14. I am an Owl – interesting.

  15. Congrats on your Sunshine Award! I think I am a Tigger, which could be a good or bad thing. 😉

  16. You deserve it! Thanks for the mention!
    Bella and DiDi

  17. I took the test and didn’t like my result either. But congrats on the award! 🙂

  18. I feel sasftiied after reading that one.

Leave a Reply

