Caughtcha

Sometimes I feel like the universe is trying to speak to me, and I am just too dense to figure out what it was trying to say.  I am not a huge believer in coincidence, so when randomly uncanny events occur, I try to translate them into the complicated messages that I am certain they are meant to convey. For example, my recent experience with Captcha on another person’s blog.   You know Captcha, right?  It’s that annoying spam buster you have probably encountered on Ticketmaster or some such website where you have to type in the words in the box. I hate that thing.  Half the time it doesn’t use real words, and it distorts the letters so that I am squinting and trying to turn the monitor upside to figure out what it says.  It probably doesn’t help that I need reading glasses and refuse to buy them.  When I do finally type in some letters, it usually tells me that I typed in the wrong letters.

This is the kind of Captcha that usually challenges me to a duel. One time, I lost tickets to a concert on Ticketmaster because I couldn't key in the right Captcha in the time limit. That was the moment I declared war on Captcha. photo credit: Stephen Rees via photo pin cc

The other day, though, I was commenting on someone’s blog, and when the Captcha came up, I paused in disbelief.  The Captcha had actually produced a word I knew quite well – the name of our bulldog, Wonderbutt. Believe it or not, Wonderbutt is not our dog’s true name.  And that is not what Captcha offered up this time.  Like some weird digital Carnac the Magnificent, this automated gadget that is supposed to weed out other automated gadgets randomly spit out the rather unusual moniker (yes, more unusual than Wonderbutt) that we have assigned to our beloved but destructive pet.

“What does this mean?” I asked myself.  Then I called in my daughter as a witness.  She did not find it particularly miraculous that Captcha spit out the name of our dog.  She is young, and has not yet had the pleasure of battling with Captcha on a daily basis.

I took a screen shot of the window, and then spent another 15 minutes trying to determine how this was supposed to effect the rest of my life.  (The other “word”, by the way, was “istrappl”.  Not any help.)  Finally, I submitted my blog comment.

After days of dwelling on this, I think that I now have it all figured out.  The mind behind Captcha is making it personal.  She is saying, “I’m not just here to annoy you.  I know everything about you.  And the next time you pound those letters on the keyboard, cussing me out for slowing you down, your precious dog will swirl away into oblivion – just like these letters. I’ll get you, my pretty, and your somewhat rotund dog too.”

Yep.  Captcha is the Wicked Witch of the West.    Next time she messes with me, a little bucket of water should take care of matters.

Posted on April 28, 2012, in Blogging, Dogs, Humor, Wonderbutt and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 36 Comments.

  1. I loathe Captcha with a passion. I usually encounter it when trying to leave comments on Blogger and it drives me to absolute distraction. I *know* I’ve typed the characters correctly…but should I use capitals? Did I guess the correct number of spaces?? Do I need to use spaces anyway????!?!!!

    I usually end up crashing out of it and not leaving a comment. I figure that if someone really wants me to jump through stupid and nonsensical hoops before I leave a comment on their work then they don’t really want me to leave a comment at all….so I don’t.

  2. That is scary. What are the odds of something like that just “random” happening? I totally agree that it is a sign of something sinister going on.

    Okay, it has never said our dog’s name…does that mean that it hasn’t found us yet, or we just haven’t pissed it off enough? Would it be better if it just said “Taz”…at least then we would know it was onto us…I should go overanalyze now.

  3. All I can say to this is cchadef ipsalam

  4. I hadn’t heard the term ‘captcha’ before but I know what it is and that is a very weird coincidence! Funny post!

  5. EEtrtwwr Fgsesk !!!!! Let me try again! RTERERWE SDDFAS!!! augh!!! %^%@^#^%#@^@^@#!!!!!
    LOL GREAT POST 🙂

  6. Such a great post – I feel your pain! When it takes me more than two attempts (as it nearly always does) I shout at the computer BUT I’M ONE OF THE GOOD GUYS. I mean, I’m happy to play by the rules, but is this really stopping the cyber criminals or whoever it’s actually meant to stop? And if it’s so important, Capcha Witch, does it really work better in weird fonted gibberish? (Wonderbutt clearly an exception.) Grrrrr. 🙂

  7. I hate that thing too. I hate it when I type it in perfectly correct and it says I messed up. I continue to do it and it still says I’m wrong. I start typing in my own choice words and tell that stupid Captcha a thing or two and whoever has Captcha in place for their comments misses out because I’m done!

  8. Oooh, scary conspiracy theory! I hate captcha, too, but so far it hasn’t decided to launch a personal vendetta against me. (Fingers crossed).

  9. I hate captchas so much. I sometimes just don’t even comment on a blog when I see they have them because they’re so frustrating. Captchas know you’re at war with them and are stalking you. They’re gonna give you your name next.

  10. I hate those so much! I wonder how far they have to go before no one will be able to respond correctly.

  11. http://thisismommyhood.com/?s=captcha&submit.x=0&submit.y=0. i HATE captcha. and i love this post. thought you might like the linked post. i thought it was funny.

  12. Very funny! Amazing that Captcha knows Wonderbutt but not really so surprising as he has become well known on the Internet! The question I would ask is why does Captcha continue to torment you when it knows you? That is just plain cruel. Captcha should just nod you through 🙂

  13. “…and your somewhat rotund dog too.” Oh I’m wheezing with laughter!!

    I can’t imagine Wonderbutt possibly having a more imaginative and fitting name, I’ll be mulling over this one for a while.

    • His actual name does not fit him at all! It was a name from my childhood, and I’d always wanted a bulldog with that name. He is not the bulldog that I pictured, though!

  14. I think some of these things are just the devils way of pissing me off. Sometimes I dont have a choice because i have to sign in. After like the fifth time i want to start banging my head.

  15. I hate those things. But I love your twist on “I’ll get you my pretty” – I said that – the witche’s voice – to my small daughter once. She did NOT like that . At all.

  16. Wait – but did you manage to get the tickets?

  1. Pingback: Wonder-rut « whatimeant2say

Leave a Reply

