What the Heck is Going On?

This is not one of my regular posts.  Just a general comment/question to the public at large.  Seriously, what is the deal with WordPress lately?  Suddenly I was getting an avalanche of comments from everyone’s blog that I follow even though I have never subscribed to comments.  Then I e-mailed WordPress for help, and they told me I needed to unsubscribe to the comments EVEN THOUGH I NEVER SUBSCRIBED IN THE FIRST PLACE.  And now, apparently, I have unsubscribed to every blog I previously followed.

So I had to go back and resubscribe to each one individually.  But it still doesn’t show all of the ones I previously followed.

If this makes no sense to you, X out of this post and carry on.

If this makes ANY sense to you, please fill me in!

And if you think this is just a blatant attempt to get more page views today, well, that could be true, but you might as well comment since you are already here.

Posted on May 6, 2012, in Annoyances, Blogging, Humor and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 43 Comments.

  1. I liked that you vented about it…not that WP is going crazy. I don’t have a clue why that would happen. It hasn’t happened to me, but WordPress has been kind of remodeling, and you might have just got caught up in the chaos.

  2. Had the same damn issue. There now seems to be a box at the bottom of the comment field and if you do not click to UNsubscribe, you automatically subscribe to all comments for that post (or maybe even blog). It’s @#$##@$% frustrating.

    If you go into your subscription settings, you can unsubscribe to all comments (just be careful you pick the comments subscription tab!)

  3. I started getting all those comment emails too. I hope WordPress fixes whatever they did soon. I just noticed that the Notify me of follow-up comments box is checked without me doing anything.

  4. Me too, and I know vivinfrance did as well. Another twist this weekend, when they changed their “Topics” tab to “Reader” – I can’t activate Reader either. Aiyo! I’m drowning here under the influx of emails – Gmail has demanded another 10% from my hard drive to accommodate them all …
    I wonder if it’ll right itself?

  5. I echo your arghhhhhh!
    Is WordPress listening?

  6. It’s doing the same thing to me, but I just noticed a little box at the bottom to un-check. Hopefully it works this time. I was really annoyed with it, too. I kept going back and un-subscribing from comment follow-ups and yeah, but hopefully it’ll work now. I just don’t want to have to un-check a box all the time but I’ll deal with it.

  7. I’m so glad you raised this issue (even though we all know it was a ruse just to get more visitors – lol), because now I know how to fix it. Thanks ThisSydneyLife! As a full time working single mumma, my email is already out of control – it didn’t need help.

    ps – looking forward to final chapter of the swim bag conundrum!

  8. misswhiplash

    yes I have been having problems lately but I thought it was just me…since you requested so politely I commented anyway even though I was going to before you suggetsed it…. life is so complicated

  9. Same thing happened to me. Grr. Thank goodness I follow all my bloggy friends through RSS feeds, so I didn’t lose them, but I’m feeling badly about “unfollowing” them. I hope they didn’t all get messages saying I’d dumped them.

    Usually I like WordPress, but I’m not very happy about this…

    • I always worry about the “dumping” message, too. I think I need to do a practice run by dumping myself to see if that activates an e-mail. I really prefer dumping surreptitiously.

  10. I do not have a blog. I am just a loyal follower/commenter. Any hoo I also had the same problem. I had to go to the bottom of the pages and check unsuscribe to comments. Not that I mind reading others points but over 100 in one day is bit much!! Yes I think we just got “caught-up”..

  11. I haven’t had this problem… instead I haven’t been getting anything at all emailed from wordpress. I guess that’s preferable, though!

    • I think I would probably think the world had ended – or that suddenly everyone had realized what a waste of time it is to read my blog – if my WP emails suddenly stopped!

  12. There is now a box to uncheck whenever you make a comment. At the moment, “subscribe” is the default, although it appeared to be working the old way on my other computer this morning.

    Until they get it sorted out, be sure to click the box under the comment you are making, even if it is on your OWN BLOG. Otherwise, you’ll get two emails for every comment that shows up on your own post.

  13. I had to approve your comment for the first time in a long time. I rather liked that.

    What’s buggin’ me is that when you comment on other people’s blogs the default now seems to be that you get notified via email when other people comment on the same blog post. My email overrunneth because I forget to uncheck the box.

  14. I’m getting that too. I hope no one unsubscribes me though because I’m already not showing up in anyone’s reader and WordPress isn’t helping. People keep telling me it’s the reader or to tell my subscribers to email them, that they weren’t logged in when they subscribed to me, but I recently dropped wordpress.com and went to .com. Evidently it wasn’t a good time for that! Now I have very low stats. Hello! Is anyone out there!

    What will be next?

    And yes, I see that little box is checked. I will uncheck it!

  15. I am not looking forward to dealing with this – on one hand, I am sort of enjoying reading all the comments.

  16. I get my emails to my cell phone and with all this subscribe to comments business my phone was blowing up all weekend – and killing the battery. Kind of irritating… And as I type this, “first world problems” comes to mind. I’ll shut up now. 🙂

    • I guess that is true that I should put this in perspective, especially since I just heard a story on NPR claiming that half the people in India don’t have access to toilets…

  17. Noticed that the “subscribe to comments” box was checked after I submitted a comment on another blog, and I cannot seem to get out of that. Think I’ll unsubscribe and then re-subscribe and see how it goes. Like we don’t already spend enough time on the computer, right?

  18. It’s all screwed up. My “Reader” just started working again after being down for several weeks, but in exchange, I’m getting randowm comments,too.

  19. Completely weird, I agree! Thanks for your warning today – I had it happen to me once and didn’t know what was up! You saved my day! OH, and I’ve missed your humor in my crazy life. Glad to be back!

Leave a Reply

