Where are Your Manners?

I can’t remember if I’ve told this story – which means that I’ve been blogging too long, I suppose.

Today, I was trying to think of a time when I laughed really long and hard.  It seems like it has been far too long.   And I remembered a time from when my daughter, Dimples was about 5 years old.

We were eating dinner at my in-laws’.  They lived out of town at the time (or we lived out of town- depending on your perspective), so we did not eat there too frequently.  In the middle of dinner, Dimples hopped out of her seat, and said, “I’ve gotta go to the bathroom.”

Embarrassed by our daughter’s lack of manners, I quietly prompted, “Say, ‘May I please be excused?'”

“Huh?”

A bit louder, “Say, ‘May I please be excused?'”

“Huh?”  She looked at me quizzically.

Preparing myself for a Battle of the Wills that I really did not want to fight in front of the in-laws, but, more importantly, did not want to lose in front of the in-laws, I loudly and firmly said, “Say, ‘May I please be excused?'”

Dimples, a bit upset at my insistence,  cocked her head, and said defiantly, “Why?  I didn’t pass gas.”

My father-in-law burst into a guffaw as I dropped my fork, and my husband grinned.  My mother-in-law smiled.  Poor Dimples had no idea why we were laughing so hard.

Good times.

We dress like this for every meal. And set the table with empty wine glasses just to make it look classy.
photo credit: http://www.themorningbulletin.com.au/

Posted on June 20, 2012, in Children, Dimples, Family, Humor, Parenting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 27 Comments.

  1. The fart joke is a timeless classic.
    Hope you enjoy yourself and laugh as much as possible this summer!

  2. hahahahaha! just today girl 3 asked loudly in the yukon cornelius, “EVERY TIME I FART DO I NEED TO SAY EXCUSE ME?” boy child nearly peed himself from crying and said, “NO, CRAZY! THEN EVERYONE WILL KNOW YOU FARTED!” and you look so june cleaverish in that photo. ;o)

  3. Funny – I understand why it made you laugh so long and hard.

  4. Sweetie – surely you can remember a belly laugh more recent than 4 years ago…? Perhaps your memory is going? Certainly not your manners, not if you dress like that for every meal…

  5. Baaaahhaaaaa! That’s sooooo cute! It could have been worse though. I raised two boys and I can imagine a time or two when what came out of their mouths was probably a little more crass.

    Hey, also wanted you to know that I nominated you for an award today…

    http://wendyestelle.com/2012/06/20/spring-oops-i-mean-summer-housekeeping-chores-fww/

    Love your blog!!

  6. Oh I know! I used to pinch Ming and whisper ‘say please’ and he would yell, ‘I SAID PLEASE ALREADY AND STOP PINCHING ME!’

  7. Even has a 5 year old she had that oh-so-adorable sense of humor? Must take after the Cap’n. 🙂

  8. That is hilarious. Too bad adults can’t get away with stuff like that.

  9. Chancy and Mumsy

    We can always depend on something the little ones say to make us laugh. Loved this story. Hugs

  10. Miranda Gargasz

    Hee hee. Too funny. Leave it to kids to bring flatulence to the table. 😉 Just the other day Jimmy asked, “If I’m in my room alone and cut one, do I still have to say ‘Excuse me?'” Who thinks of this stuff? Kids!

  11. You last laughed really long and hard when Dimples was 5? That is far too long – unless you are still laughing 🙂

  12. LOL…. now that is too funny! Kids always come up with the darnedest replies.. 🙂

Leave a Reply

