Whole Day of No Obligation

In the Catholic Church, the calendar is full of Holy Days of Obligation – special occasion days on which the faithful are required to attend church.

I decided that the Firepants Family – or, at the very least, Mrs. Cap’n Firepants – needed a Whole Day of No Obligation.  Our summer has been a daily deluge of mandatory tasks, and I wanted one day before I return to work next Monday that requires nothing of me.

Yesterday was my day.  Our daughter, Dimples, was a willing participant – perfectly happy to lounge around all day reading two books I bought yesterday and playing on her iPad.  I slept late, finished off one of my library books, made hotdogs for lunch, read Oprah magazine, and took a nap.

I did write this blog post.  But I didn’t publish it.  Lately, I’ve been feeling obligated to post every day.  So, I had to liberate myself by not posting.  Which was very hard – because I’ve posted every single day since last August 2nd.  This means my day of No Obligation was not without some sacrifice – giving it a somewhat Catholic twist despite my attempts to the contrary.

I’m thinking of publishing a calendar with mandatory Whole Days of No Obligation embedded into each month.  But, I guess that being Obligated to spend a day of Not Being Obligated kind of defeats the purpose.

It would be a really cool calendar, though, with pictures of our dog, Wonderbutt, showing complete disregard for any kind of obligations with absolutely no sign of guilt whatsoever.

I’m pretty sure this dog is not Catholic.

I defy you, Obligations!

Posted on August 16, 2012, in Family, Humor, Religion, Wonderbutt and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 27 Comments.

  1. you know i am a sometimes-catholic, so this post is especially witty to me. love. it. i want in on the no obligation calendar.

  2. I will occassionally tell my boss I’m taking a Mental Health day, just to keep my sanity.
    Glad you enjoyed yours, and you should definitely try and get some more no obligation days in!
    Maybe get someone to watch WB to make it even more relaxing!

    • That’s great that you can tell your boss you are taking a Mental Health day and you don’t catch any flack. We don’t have that option on our automated substitute calling system – but I think we should.

  3. I feel obligated to tell you that your “no obligation” day sounds wonderful. I’m glad you enjoyed it.

  4. That sounds like a nice day! I was wondering why there wasn’t a post from you yesterday.

    • I may be ratcheting it down for awhile on the blogging – just trying every other day for awhile. I keep adding projects to my plate and none are getting taken away.

      • I know what you mean. For some reason I just decided to try scrapbooking along with getting ready for college, planning a wedding, working out, etc. Maybe I need to take sleep off my plate…

  5. Chancy and Mumsy

    Hope you enjoyed your day. We think the calendar is a great idea. There is no way I could think of something to blog about every day…your posts are all terrific and I really enjoy them. Kudos to you for being able to post every day but one for over a year. Hugs and some nose kisses for Wonderbutt.

  6. There is NO WAY Wonderbutt is Catholic – he does not display enough guilt.

  7. Can’t think of a better way to spend a day. Yeah! for a day of no obligation! You’ve hit on something that may just take off and assume a life of its own. And Saint Wonderbutt? Not a chance.

  8. This is a bloody brilliant idea. One that I’m going to purloin immediately. 🙂

  9. This is a brilliant idea! And that last line about Wonderbutt made me laugh out loud 😀

    • It’s rather interesting to ponder what religion my pets might be. Mrs. P.I.B. is definitely Catholic. She is anxious even when she hasn’t done anything wrong, and she seems to be terrified of God’s wrath as she cowers during every thunder storm. Of course, she might just be worried that I’m going to be struck by lightning, not her.

  10. Great post! I laughed hard at the Holy Day of No Obligation! Being a ex-Catholic (I love the church but … well somethings they support I cant live with and thats my personal problem) I appreciated it. Now, being a Lutheran I think it fits my collies very well since they have twisted beyond all recognition To Sin Boldly for we must sin but Trust in Jesus even more boldly for his sacrifice overcomes our sinful nature. The collies, especially Ginger just say “SIN BOLDLY. hehehehehe”…. Love your post!!! 🙂

  11. Sounds like a perfect day to me! Can’t believe you’re back to school already. Summer just flew by.
    Yesterday was my day of no obligation and it was wonderful too. We really do need those every now and again!

  1. Pingback: But I Refused to Floss « whatimeant2say

Leave a Reply

