When You Have a Dog Called Wonderbutt, All Other Names Pale in Comparison

I work at my daughter’s school.  At least, I did until today.  (Don’t worry.  I still work there.  It’s just not her school anymore, as she just finished 5th grade.)

One morning, a couple of days ago, we were walking into the school.  To the delight of many other students who were on their way in, a chihuahua who had obviously not read the “No pets on campus” signs clearly posted everywhere, was dashing around the entrance of the school.

“I recognize that dog,” my daughter said.  “It’s the one that lives across the street from Gabby’s house.  That’s Rex!”

“Hmm,” I said, noting the huge pink color adorning the neck of the chihuahua.  “Uh, are you sure its name is Rex?” And, yes, I am well aware that is sexist.  And somewhat unimaginative.  I mean, it could be, “R.E.X.” for “Resist Extraterrestrial X-Rays.”  Or, maybe, it was spelled, “Wrecks” as in “She Wrecks Every Piece of Furniture We Own.”  Perhaps that’s what we should have named our dog…

“Oh, yeah, that’s Rex,” my daughter confidently responded, nodding her head with assurance.

“Because uh, it’s got a pink collar,” I pointed out.

“It’s Rex!” she said, mildly perturbed that I would doubt her canine identification skills.

“O-kay!” I said, not willing to begin the day with a war over the moniker of an animal.

“Or Steve,” she conceded, as I opened the school door.  “It could be Steve.”

photo from http://www.google.com/url?sa=i&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=images&cd=&cad=rja&docid=z2wCuiL0EFz-fM&tbnid=LZQhfqpk-qhdJM:&ved=0CAQQjB0&url=http%3A%2F%2Fojhoferjottings.blogspot.com%2F2010%2F06%2Fchic-chihuahuas-my-pet-dharma-with.html&ei=TS-xUZHiH4qdyAHsiIGYCg&bvm=bv.47534661,d.aWc&psig=AFQjCNHqDkvBRlzWbZtGNWvqsDGu4P8NzQ&ust=1370652855590225

Posted on June 6, 2013, in Children, Dimples, Family, Humor, Parenting, Wonderbutt and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 30 Comments.

  1. hownottokillyourparents

    Laughed out loud at the end there. Steve the chihuahua. So much cooler than Rex.

  2. Rex can be a girl name! Defy gender roles! 😉

    • I’m willing to defy them – just not willing to believe that most of my conservative neighbors are willing to defy them. The closest they have come is by naming their daughters “Reagan” 😉

  3. Wow I am surprised at you ! Automatically assuming Rex was a male. It’s because of people like you why we associate Rex with a male. 😉

  4. male or female he/she’s really cute.

  5. Some people name their animals weird names. I would never name a girl animal Rex but more power to you. Steve? No. But some celebrity just named their daughter Lincoln.

  6. Thanks for the guffaw!

  7. …or Mollie. She looks like a Mollie to me.

  8. Maybe she’s just hinitng she would like WB to have a bifferent name.
    And that’s a very cute picture at the bottom of Bob.

  9. Ha! Love this post, mainly because I LOVE gender-non-conforming Chihuahuas. (Not that I ever knew of any gender-non-conforming Chihuahuas. I think you just made gender-non-conforming Chihuahuas a thing!)

  10. I know a lab’ called Steve. And, another called Bruce.

  11. Steve! Hahahaha! There is just something inherently funny about that name. To have it pinned on a Chihuahua is hysterical 😀

  12. She looks like a Steve.

  13. Yep, Steve it must be! 🙂

  14. When I was a kid I had a white female Persian cat that I named Ralph, much to the chagrin of my parents. After hearing about the antics of Wonderbutt, I cannot imagine any other name for him. It’s perfect.

  1. Pingback: Poifect | whatimeant2say

Leave a Reply

